About the Competition

Learn more about the 2015 ALEA III International Composition Prize here.

31st International Composition Competition
6 premiere performances
2 cash prizes

About the Prize
Rules & Guidelines
Application Form

2012 Finalists

Finalists and prize-winners of 2012 ALEA III International Composition Competition.

Past Finalists

Finalists and prize-winners from 1980 to 2011.

The 2012 ALEA III International Composition Competition Prize

The ALEA III International Composition Prize was established at Boston University to promote and encourage the creation of new music by young professional composers of all nationalities under 40 years old. Unperformed and unpublished works of all styles and esthetic directions are eligible and may be scored for any combination of single orchestral instruments, guitar, voice and/or electronics utilizing from 1-15 musicians. Compositions range between 6 and 15 minutes in duration and are submitted by March 15 of each year.

During the preliminary stage of the competition, members of the Boston University Music Faculty select 6-9 works for the finals. At the final stage Theodore Antoniou conducts the performances of the finalists' composition, and after the concert a monetary prize of $2,500 is awarded. The judges for the final round are well known personalities of the Boston music scene. The panel, consisting of composers, performers, conductors, musicologists and educators, aims for a balance among a variety of musical approaches.

The Prize was established in 1979 by Charles Politis, a Greek American industrialist. It was re-established by an anonymous donor in 1984 to honor Melanya Kucyna, and again in 1989 as the ALEA III International Composition Prize.

During the 30 International Composition Competitions produced so far more than 6,500 scores have been submitted and 215 have been performed. All scores are kept in the ALEA III library for the perusal of students, performers and any other interested individuals.