2014-2015 37th Season

See this season's full concert list before it's too late. All events are free to the public.

The 2015 ALEA III International Composition Prize

31st International Composition Competition
6 premiere performances
2 cash prizes
2 audience prizes

The 31st ALEA III International Composition Competition has been announced. For information, guidelines and application form please check the links below.

About the Prize
Rules & Guidelines
Application Form

Finalists and Winner of the 2015 ALEA III International Composition Competition

The final stage of the 2015 competition took place on April 19, 2015.

ALEA III & Theodore Antoniou

Founded in 1978, ALEA III has had many firsts. Learn more about the history of ALEA and it's artistic director, Theodore Antoniou.

31st International Composition Competition

Sunday, April 19, 2015, 7:00 p.m. | Tsai Performance Center

Left to right: Stratis Minakakis, Samuel Headrick, Eduardo Caballero, Jasper G. R. Schmich Kinney, Richard Cornell, Theodore Antoniou, Ioannis Angelakis, Min-Zuo Lu, James Russell-Smith, Ketty Nez, Yuri Mazurkevich, David Kopp


  • Ioannis Angelakis (Greece) | Éternelle, Inassouvie…(I) - for clarinet and piano
  • Tena Ivana Borić (Croatia) | A-D-H-D - for solo clarinet
  • Eduardo Caballero (Mexico) | Whose Name was Writ in the Water - for ensemble of six players
  • Wei-Chih Liu (Taiwan - R.O.C.) The Flames of Zhu-Que - for 8 musicians
  • Min-Zuo Lu (China) | The Day is Declining - for 6 musicians
  • Jasper Schmich Kinney (USA) | Lights Hear Sound, Vibrations See Color - for mixed quartet

On April 19, 2015 the above works were premiered under the direction of Theodore Antoniou at Tsai Performance Center, 685 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston. The concert started at 7:00 pm. Admission was free.

The 2015 ALEA III First Prize was awarded to Ioannis Angelakis
The 2015 ALEA III Second Prize was awarded to Wei-Chih Liu.

In addition these were two audience prizes awarded:

The 2015 Audience First Prize was awarded to Min-Zuo Lu
The 2015 Audience Second Prize was awarded to Ioannis Angelakis

More info about the competition results here...